Turns out that wooden puppets do age, but in this case, gracefully. Walt Disney Productions produced its second animated feature in 1940 after the success of Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs (1937) – a story of a wooden puppet who yearns to be a real boy. Based on the Italian children novel The Adventures of Pinocchio by Carlo Collodi, the film is considered one of the finest animated movies of all time.

In conjunction with the 75th anniversary of iconic film comes this collectible two disc soundtrack. A full length soundtrack album for this title was not released until 1956, followed by an expanded version in 1992. For those who have not owned any of these older editions, this is definitely a must own.

Disc One presents the previously issued 25 track sequence of the 1992 CD in remastered glory. Listening to the CD without visuals is a treat, because every cue is a magical moment to cherish. You aren’t distracted by the movie’s dialogue and sound effects, and can fully immerse in the songs written and composed by Ned Washington and Leigh Harline.

In case you don’t already know, the signature tune “When You Wish Upon A Star” is from this classic film. It kicks off the 65 minute Disc One on a delightful note. Elsewhere, you smile while listening to tracks like “Give a Little Whistle” (having a cricket personify conscience is one of the most brilliant ideas on film ever), “Hi Diddle Dee Dee (An Actor’s Life for Me:” and “I’ve Got No Strings”. Score tracks like “Little Wooden Head”, “The Blue Fairy”, “Old Gepetto” and “Off to School” are timely reminders why old is gold.

Disc Two, which runs at 15 minutes, contains eight bonus tracks: three modern recordings of songs cut from the movie, and five tunes by Cliff Richards (the voice of Jiminy Cricket) on the “I’m No Fool” segments of The Mickey Mouse Club. Though brief, it is refreshing to listen to the music presented on Disc Two.

Like the other titles in this highly recommended series, fans will be pleased with the lovely digibook packaging. You get to read about the historical background of the film, and some details about the songs written for the film. The concept art is also breathtakingly beautiful to look at.

This is the kind of soundtrack that you will admire decades down the road, when things have gone too fast, too furious. 


Recommended Track: 
(1) When You Wish Upon a Star – Disc One

Review by John Li


When You Wish Upon a Star 
Little Wooden Head
Clock Sequence
Kitten Theme
The Blue Fairy
Give A Little Whistle Performed by Cliff Edwards and Dickie Jones
Old Geppetto
Off to School
Hi-Diddle-Dee-Dee (An Actor’s Life for Me) Performed by Walter Catlett
So Sorry
I’ve Got No Strings Performed by Dickie Jones
12 Sinister Stromboli
13 Sad Reunion
14 Lesson in Lies
15 Turn on the Old Music Box
16 Coach to Pleasure Island
17 Angry Cricket
18 Transformation
19 Message from the Blue Fairy
20 To the Rescue
21 Deep Ripples
22 Desolation Theme
23 Monstro Awakens
24 Whale Chase
25 A Real Boy Performed by Cliff Edwards and the Disney Studio Chorus


No Strings Performed by Kate Higgins, Cindy Robinson, Randy Crenshaw and Jeff Gunn
As I Was Sayin’ to the Duchess Performed by Randy Crenshaw
Rolling Along to Pleasure Island Performed by Kate Higgins, Cindy Robinson, Randy Crenshaw and Jeff Gunn
You (Are a Human Animal) Performed by Cliff Edwards and the Disney Studio Chorus
Mickey Mouse Club Book Song Performed by Cliff Edwards and the Disney Studio Chorus
I’m No Fool (On a Bike) Performed by Cliff Edwards, The Mouseketeers and the Disney Studio Chorus
Safety First/I’m No Fool (In Water) Performed by Cliff Edwards
Stop, Look and Listen/I’m No Fool (As a Pedestrian) Performed by Cliff Edwards



Label: Walt Disney Records
Release Date: February 10 2015